Update to CodeIgnitor 4

CodeIgnitor needs to be updated if this project wants to remain relevant. In addition to drastically improving security, speed, and compatibility with non-EOL PHP versions, there is a long list of other benefits.

I tried seeing how far I could get on my own fork; It wasn’t that bad. Just working on my own, and with the help of ChatGPT, I could probably have a working beta in about a month or two. With several people working on it I think we could make quick work of it. I don’t want to maintain my own fork so it would be nice if the people who currently maintain this project could get behind it.

I could immediately merge a bunch of changes I already made. Enough to get the UI partially working on CodeIgnitor 4. I would say that is maybe 10-20% of the work already done.

@sman123 I’m not a programmer but I can help with other stuffs

After taking another look at the code I wrote, the changes I made were to get PHP v7.4+ working, which is the first step to updating to CodeIgnitor 4. It required a change to the cipher encoding/decoding routines and authentication, so that I could get basic login to the UI working. I think it’s just 3 or 4 functions I had to change.

If they were to start a development branch on github specifically for this purpose, I could submit the changes to update ASTPP for use with PHP v7.4+.

If you look at their Pull Requests, they are not even bothering with them. But when a bug appears, they have told told people “it is open source, you are welcome to contribute.”

They are still using the first version of CodeIgnitor v2, even though it would have been relatively easy to update to newer minor releases of that version. I could help with updating the core code but I would need to see some indication they are willing to be an active participant.

The fact they have not been participating much in the forum in the past few days is a bit telling.